SOLAR POWER PROJECT
Our Mission to a sustainable future
SERVICE LEARNING
We live yet we serve, We serve yet we learn
CHRISTIAN EDUCATION
We rejoice in the knowledge of God's truth
GLOBAL CONNECTION
An empowering and enlightening journey

Applause to the Winners

Wong Wing Yung

With a positive learning attitude and active participation in exchange programmes and volunteer services, Wong Wing Yung won the 2019-20 Hong Kong Outstanding Students Award.

Established in 1985, the Hong Kong Outstanding Students Award is one of the most recognized and prestigious awards for secondary school students in Hong Kong. Organized by the Youth Arch Foundation and fully supported by the Lion & Globe Educational Trust, the award aims to encourage promising students with outstanding academic, extra-curricular and community service achievements, and morality.

Wing Yung was also one of the winners of Hok Yau Club Outstanding Student Leaders Award. Over the years, more than 200 secondary schools and over 4,000 secondary school students participated in this event which is highly recognized by the academic community. Participants can improve themselves through leadership training and cultivate different leadership qualities.

 

Lin Kai Chun

Lin Kai Chun’s excellent language proficiency is highly recognized and won him the highest award in a national writing competition.

In 2018-19, he competed at the national finals of the China Secondary Schools Essay Writing Competition and brought back the Heng Yuan Xiang Literature Star Award in the junior division and the Best Performance Award. First held in 2005, the competition has attracted nearly tens of millions of secondary school students from various regions across the country each year. It is now the most influential and the largest cultural event in the country’s education sector.

Added to that, Lin Kai Chun won the Student of the Year Award in the “Linguist – Cantonese” category in the 2019-20 school year. Organized by the South China Morning Post and sponsored by the Hong Kong Jockey Club, as well as the Education Bureau, Student of the Year Awards are among the city’s most prestigious honour for local youths over the past 40 years.

In 2020-21, Lin Kai Chun won the Hong Kong Champion in the Basic Law Quiz Competition, the First Runner-up in the Nation Knowledge Quiz Group Competition, and the Hong Kong Champion in ‘My Interfaces with the Belt and Road Initiative’ Integrated Skills Competition. His enthusiasm in service and leadership abilities were recognized as he was awarded the Student of the Year Award in the “Community Contributor” category, the Future Star Scholarship, Hong Kong's Top Ten Outstanding Secondary Student, and 2021 Hong Kong Outstanding Teen. As the Capitan of the Chinese Debating Team, he led his team to bring back the Champion of the Anti-Coronavirus Cup and the Second Runner-up of the CUHK United College Cup. His achievements in various areas have been highly acknowledged. As one of the most outstanding students in Hong Kong, he has been interviewed dozens of times by newspapers and radio stations in the past few years.

 

Or Ka Ying

2020 graduate Or Ka Ying was admitted to the Chinese University of Hong Kong, majoring in the Chinese Language and Literature programme. For many years, she has put the school motto ‘I am not only born for myself’ into practice, participating in various community services. She has organized numerous volunteer services in Hong Kong and has served as the Chairlady of the Hong Kong Student Welfare Network. She has also taken part in various overseas service projects, such as volunteer teaching in Qingyuan mountain areas, the Taipei Hsinchu Service Exchange Tour organized by the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the Vietnamese slum service, volunteer teaching in Cambodia, etc. She also founded the joint school international student aid organization ‘Dream Compassioners’ and served as the Chairlady of the first Executive Committee, giving a helping hand to students in need around the world. She was selected as the South China Morning Post's Student of the Year in the ‘Community Contributor’ category. Dream Compassioners was also shortlisted for the 9th Hong Kong Volunteer Award.

Added to this, Ka Ying was an all-round student who excelled in different areas. She won Gold Awards in Schools Dance Festivals and Hong Kong Open Dance Competition. She also competed in the World School Debating Championships in Malaysia, where she was awarded the Best Debater. She is now serving as the coach of the BHJS Chinese Debate Team.

In 2020, Ka Ying was awarded the Multi-faceted Excellence Scholarship (MES) by the Home Affairs Bureau. She was one of the five awardees in the Community Service category of this scholarship. As an awardee of the MES, she was granted the priority for conditional university admission, and will get the full-tuition coverage for her four-year university study. Additionally, she brought back the 30th Outstanding Student Service Award. She was also shortlisted for the final election of Hong Kong's Top Ten Outstanding Tertiary Students Election. Ka Ying’s leadership capabilities and contributions to the community were highly recognized.

 

Henry Hung

As a gifted child, 2017 graduate Henry Hung once had a terrible temper but through reading, he not only refined his temperament, but also developed excellent writing skills which won him several awards at language competitions such as Champion of the Elite Student Competition in Chinese Language and First Class Award and Literature Star Award of the China Secondary Schools Essay Writing Competition.

In 2015-16, Henry won the Hong Kong Outstanding Students Award. Organized by the Youth Arch Foundation and fully supported by the Lion & Globe Educational Trust, the award aims to encourage promising students with outstanding academic, extra-curricular and community service achievements and conduct. Since 1985, it has been one of the most recognized and prestigious awards for secondary school students in Hong Kong.

In 2017, Henry was awarded the Hong Kong Scholarship for Excellence, which is presented by the HKSAR government to support outstanding local students to pursue further studies in world-renowned universities outside Hong Kong. Henry was then admitted to the University of Pennsylvania, one of the Ivy League universities in the US, to study Bachelor of Arts.

 

Leung Sun Kai

Despite his heavy study workload, 2016 graduate Leung Sun Kai Ken spent two years completing his research paper titled “On the Summation of Fractional Parts and its Application” and was crowned the winner of the Gold Award at the 2016 Hang Lung Mathematics Awards.

About 240 students from 60 secondary schools formed nearly 80 teams to take part in the 2016 competition. The award’s Scientific Committee evaluated the research reports in a process modelled after the publication of papers in scientific journals. Ten finalists were selected for the oral defense modelled after the doctoral degree defense process.

Founded in 2004, Hang Lung Mathematics Awards is a highly regarded biennial mathematics research competition for secondary school students in Hong Kong. It blazed a trail in secondary school mathematics education by encouraging students to realize their creative potential in mathematics and sciences and stimulating their passion for intellectual discovery.

 

World Scholar’s Cup Team

From Hong Kong to Sydney and finally to Yale, BHJS World Scholar’s Cup Team went through the cup’s Regional Round, Global Round and the ultimate Tournament of Champions, and brought back over 80 individual and team medals and trophies in 2019 – Debate Champions Gold Award, Writing Competition Gold Award and Top School Scholar Award, to name a few.

The World Scholar’s Cup is an international academic competition in which students compete against each other in six different subject areas namely Science, History, Social Studies, Literature, Art & Music and an additional Special Area which is decided by the organizer every year. The subjects revolve around a central theme – 2019’s being “A World on the Margins”. Participants are challenged in various formats such as debates, collaborative writing and quizzes.

Founded in 2007, the event aims to create something different than traditional academic competitions and conferences: a celebration of the joy of learning, a rewarding tournament and an enrichment opportunity that motivated students not just to demonstrate their existing strengths but to discover new ones.

 

English Debating Team

The English Debating Team has demonstrated their excellent debating and speech delivery skills through active participation in various competitions.

The team joined the Hong Kong Schools Mooting and Mock Trial Competition in two consecutive years. They brought back the Overall Second Runner-up together with three individual awards in their first year of participation in 2016-17. In the next year, the team achieved further success by winning the Overall First Runner-up and seven individual awards.

Established in 2015, the Mock Trial competition aims to allow local secondary school students to truly understand how justice is administered in Hong Kong. In the tournament, students have to read civil and criminal cases, analyze laws, and draft legal documents before standing in front of judges in moot courts.

In addition, the team advanced to the semi-final in the 32nd Sing Tao Inter-school Debating Competition (English Division). The team received their motion a week before each round and had to conduct extensive research on given topics. In the end, they brought back the Overall Second Runner-up as well as eight individual awards after five rounds of competition.

Since 1984, Sing Tao Inter-School Debating Competition has fostered and nurtured groups of talents in school debate and become a renowned academic event among Hong Kong secondary schools.

 

Odyssey of the Mind Team

In 2019, seven F.5 students teamed up to compete in the Odyssey of the Mind Hong Kong Regional Tournament. After solving a long-term problem and an impromptu problem in the contest, they won the First Runner-up in Problem 3 Division III and obtained eligibility to join the World Final held at Michigan State University in the US on behalf of Hong Kong, competing for the world championship with more than 900 teams from all over the world.

Founded in 1978, “Odyssey of the Mind” is a world-class educational activity originating from the US. It fosters students’ knowledge and skills in STEM/STEAM, creativity and innovation, and creates opportunities for students in overseas exchange, competition and learning to broaden their horizons. Participants are required to apply their STEM knowledge together with their creativity and artistic sense in solving problems under a lot of constraints.

 

Au Yeung Ho Yat

As a member of the Hong Kong Rowing Team, rowing athlete Au Yeung Ho Yat has won numerous awards in local and international competitions. He represented Hong Kong in the 2019 Asian Rowing Junior Championships held in Pattaya, Thailand, winning a bronze award in the Junior Men’s Eight event.

Locally, he came first in the Open Double Sculls in the Hong Kong Island Tournament by completing the race in 4 hours 29 minutes and 17 seconds with fellow rower Dylan Robinson. It was his first time to join this competition, making him the youngest ever participant in the tournament.

Au Yeung Ho Yat, a vibrant and energetic athlete, received the A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award in 2020. Organized since 2005, the award aims to support local sports development and help to bring a new generation with a positive attitude and healthy life. Over 14,000 students are honoured so far through the award.

 

Choi Ka Hei

As a powerlifting athlete, 2019 graduate Choi Ka Hei took part in many international and local competitions on behalf of Hong Kong and brought back numerous awards.

In 2018, Choi Ka Hei represented Hong Kong in the Asian Benchpress Championships held in Dubai. He won the Champion in the raw category and the First Runner-up in the equipped category. He successfully broke Hong Kong’s record by lifting 165 kg in the raw category.

Locally, Choi Ka Hei won the Overall Champion in the IPF Hong Kong International Classic Powerlifting Championships 2018 and Champions of both classic and geared competitions in the Hong Kong Benchpress Championships 2018.

 

Basketball Team

In 2018, the BHJS Girls A Grade Basketball Team, which comprised seven players won through matches in the heats and the semi-final and advanced to the final of the HKSSF Inter-school Basketball Competition (Division 2 Kowloon). They eventually defeated their opponent by 46:41, winning the championship.

The girls have overcome numerous obstacles to attain the championship. As there were only seven players in the team, they barely had a chance of substitution. Every member had to get involved in the competition and play for the whole game. Coupled with heavy study workload, they worked hard to strike a balance between competitions and academic performance. With strong will and perseverance, even though they had lost some matches, the team eventually was able to reverse the situation and secure the final victory.

60 YEARS STRONG
Growing and Glowing We Soldier On
SOLAR POWER PROJECT
Our Mission to a sustainable future
SERVICE LEARNING
We live yet we serve, We serve yet we learn
CHRISTIAN EDUCATION
We rejoice in the knowledge of God's truth
GLOBAL CONNECTION
An empowering and enlightening journey

傑出銀禧人

       

王詠鎔

熱愛朗誦和演說的王詠鎔同學獲獎無數,詠鎔以積極的學習態度踴躍參與交流活動和義工服務,成就獲得2019-20香港傑出學生獎項肯定。

由青苗基金主辦及獅球教育基金會全力支持的「香港傑出學生選舉」始於1985年,一向為學界盛事,旨在嘉許品學兼優的中學生,並透過傑出學生選舉前後的一連串學習活動,讓參與同學擴闊生活圈子及視野。

另外,王詠鎔當選為2019-20學友社傑出中學生領袖。這項選舉歷年來有逾二百所中學、超過四千名中學生參選,備受學界肯定。參選同學可以透過領袖培訓活動提昇自我,培養不同領袖素養。

 

連啟晉

連啟晉卓越的語文能力備受肯定,曾獲得全國寫作比賽的最高獎項,創下佳績。

2018-19年度,連啟晉在中國中學生作文大賽全國決賽中,奪得初中組「恆源祥文學之星獎」以及「最佳表現力獎」。該項比賽自2005年首辦以來,每年吸引全國各賽區近千萬名中學生參加,乃全國教育界規模最大、規格最高、參與人數最多、影響最廣泛的一項文化盛事。

此外,2019-20學年,連啟晉又奪得南華早報年度傑出學生獎 — 語言學習(廣東話)。這項選舉由南華早報主辦、香港賽馬會及教育局協辦,已舉行40年,每年表揚於九大範疇表現優秀的學生。

在2020-21學年,連啟晉獲得基本法問答比賽全港冠軍、國情問答比賽全港團體亞軍、一帶一路綜合能力比賽全港冠軍。他的熱心服務與領導才能亦備受肯定,他獲得南華早報年度傑出學生獎 —服務範疇季軍、未來之星獎學金、香港特別行政區全港十大傑出中學生、2021香港傑出少年等殊榮。作為我校中文辯論隊長他亦帶領我校辯論隊獲得抗疫盃冠軍、中大聯合盃季軍等。他各方面的成就備受肯定。幾年間受報紙電台訪問共數十次,為全港難得的優秀學生。

 

柯嘉瑩

2020年畢業生柯嘉瑩於中文大學主修中國語言及文學系。她多年來踐行校訓「非以役人,乃役於人」,參與各類不同服務。她在本港籌辦不少義工服務,更曾擔任香港學生福利聯網主席。她亦曾多次到海外服務,如清遠山區義教、中文大學台北新竹服務交流團、越南貧民窟服務、柬埔寨義教等。她更創辦聯校國際助學組織「童夢同行」,擔任首屆執行委員會主席,服務世界上有需要學童。她入選南華早報年度學生決選生(服務範疇),「童夢同行」亦獲選入圍「第九屆香港傑出義工獎」。

此外,嘉瑩多才多藝,她曾多次參與校際舞蹈節及全港公開舞蹈比賽屢獲金獎佳績。她亦曾參與馬來西亞世界中學生辯論賽,曾獲最佳辯手,現在在銀禧擔任中文辯論隊教練。

柯嘉瑩於2020年獲香港特區政府頒贈「多元卓越獎學金」。服務範疇全港每年約有5位同學獲奬,嘉瑩為其中一位。獎學金獎額為四年學費,並獲大學優先有條件取錄資格。她亦榮獲香港傑出專上學生服務協會「第三十屆傑出學生服務獎」、並入圍香港十大傑出大專學生選舉最終決選生。嘉瑩的領導才能與對社會的貢獻備受肯定。

 

洪達鏗

2017年畢業生洪達鏗乃資優學生,通過閱讀陶冶性情,更磨鍊出一手好文筆,在多個語文比賽獎項屢獲殊榮,包括全港中國語文菁英比賽冠軍、中國中學生作文大賽一等獎和香港賽區文學之星等。

他又在2015-16學年獲選為香港傑出學生。由青苗基金主辦及獅球教育基金會全力支持的「香港傑出學生選舉」始於1985年,一向為學界盛事,旨在嘉許品學兼優的中學生,並透過選舉前後的一連串學習活動,讓同學擴闊生活圈子及視野。

此外,洪達鏗也在2017年獲頒香港卓越獎學金。該獎學金由香港特區政府於2014年設立,旨在資助本地傑出學生到香港境外升讀世界知名大學。及後,洪達鏗前赴美國常春藤盟校之一的賓夕法尼亞大學文理學院修讀文學士學位。

 

梁辰楷

縱然課業繁重,2016年畢業生梁辰楷仍憑著堅持和毅力,花了兩年時間完成專題研究 "On the Summation of Fractional Parts and its Application",成為2016年恒隆數學獎金獎得主。

該屆恒隆數學獎共有60所中學派出近80支隊伍,合共約240名學生參賽。獎項的學術委員會採用類似科學期刊選文標準評審論文。入圍學生更要出席答辯會,就其研究報告作公開闡述,答辯模式參照博士學位論文的標準。

這項為香港中學生而設的數學研究比賽,每兩年一屆,自2004年成立以來,一直備受各界推崇。該獎項開創中學數學教育的先河,鼓勵中學生發揮數理方面的創意,激發他們對知識探索的熱情。

 

世界學者盃銀禧代表隊

從香港到澳洲悉尼、再到美國耶魯,出戰2019年世界學者盃的銀禧代表隊經歷了區域賽、全球賽和終極的冠軍賽後,共奪得超過80項個人和團體獎牌和奬盃,包括辯論比賽金獎、寫作比賽金獎、頂尖學者獎等。

世界學者盃是一項國際學術競賽,參賽學生在六個學科領域相互競技,包括科學、歷史、社會研究、文學、藝術和音樂,以及每年由主辦方決定的一個特殊領域。六個學科均圍繞一個中心主題,而2019年的主題為「邊緣世界」。參賽者會遇到各種形式的挑戰,例如辯論、協同寫作、測驗等。

創立於2007年的世界學者盃旨在創造與傳統學術比賽不同的經歷,為學生帶來學習樂趣、有益的比賽和豐富的機會,不僅激發他們展示現有實力,還讓他們發現屬於自己的新優勢。

 

英文辯論隊

銀禧英文辯論隊積極參與各類型比賽並取得佳績,展示出色的辯論和演講技巧。

英辯隊連續兩年參加香港學界模擬辯護及模擬法庭比賽。2016-17年度是英辯隊首度參加這項比賽,並已奪得全場季軍及三個個人獎項。接下來一年,英辯隊再下一城,在比賽中奪得全場亞軍及七個個人獎項。

自2015年成立以來,模擬法庭比賽致力讓本港中學生真正了解本港法律制度運作的過程。參賽學生需要研讀民事和刑事案例、分析法律條文、撰寫法律文件,並在模擬法庭上在法官面前進行辯護。

另外,英辯隊在第32屆星島全港校際辯論比賽(英文組)中躋身準決賽。英辯隊在每輪比賽前一星期收到辯題,然後日以繼夜搜集資料備戰,最終經過五輪比賽後,奪得全場總亞軍和八個個人獎項。

自1984年創辦至今,星島辯論賽旨在全面訓練學生的語文能力、辯才、思考力及組織能力,乃一年一度的學界盛事。

 

創意思維世界賽銀禧代表隊

2019年,七名銀禧中五學生組隊出戰創意思維世界賽香港區賽,經過長題目及即興題的比賽,於題目三組別三奪得亞軍,獲得資格代表香港前赴美國密歇根州立大學參加世界賽,與來自世界各地約900多支隊伍角逐世界冠軍。

創意思維活動創辧於1978年,是一項源自美國的世界級教育活動,旨在培養學生在STEM/STEAM、創造力和創新方面的知識和技能,並提供機會予學生進行海外交流、競賽和學習以拓寬眼界。參加者要運用其STEM知識、創造力和藝術感來化解難題。

 

歐陽浩一

作為港隊成員,划艇運動員歐陽浩一比賽經驗豐富,並獲得多項本地及國際獎項。國際賽方面,他曾代表香港到泰國芭堤雅出戰2019亞洲青少年賽艇錦標賽,在男子八人賽艇項目中獲得季軍。

本地賽方面,在賽艇環島大賽2020中,歐陽浩一與香港青年代表李啟龍合戰公開雙人雙槳艇,兩人雖是賽事最年輕艇手,但實力強橫,首戰海岸賽艇就以4小時29分17秒完賽,成為組別第一。

活力四射的歐陽浩一更奪得2020年屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎。這個獎項自2005年創立,旨在推廣香港學界的運動風氣,為社會培育積極上進、熱愛運動的新一代。每年透過學校提名,頒發獎項嘉許有運動潛質而且品行優良的青少年,至今已有超過14,000名學生獲此殊榮。

 

蔡嘉熙

作為香港健力運動員,本校2019年畢業生蔡嘉熙曾代表香港出戰多項國際和本地賽事,獲獎無數。

2018年,蔡嘉熙代表香港到迪拜參加亞洲臥推舉錦標賽,分別在無裝備賽和有裝備賽中奪得冠軍和亞軍。他在無裝備賽做出165公斤的成績,更成功打破香港紀錄。

本地賽方面,蔡嘉熙在2018年IPF香港國際無裝備健力錦標賽中奪得健力全場總冠軍,並在同年舉行的香港臥推舉錦標賽中,奪得無裝備賽和有裝備賽的冠軍。

 

籃球隊

2018年,由七名球員組成的銀禧女子甲組籃球校隊,在香港學界體育聯會女子甲組校際籃球比賽(第二組九龍)中,晉級至決賽,最終以46比41擊敗對手,勇奪冠軍。

冠軍背後,她們克服了無數困難和挑戰。由於全隊只有七人,她們並沒有換人的機會,隊員必定要跑足全場。再加上課業繁重,她們都努力在比賽和學業之間取得平衡。憑著意志和毅力,即使好幾場比賽初段曾處於劣勢,球隊最終仍能扭轉局勢,並取得最後勝利。